Tapas+Lavapiés= Tapapiés

Every morning before getting on my bus to Estremera I first take the metro to a neighborhood called Lavapiés. At eight o’clock, it resembles a ghost town so I was surprised to hear it was the sight of a ten-day food expo called Tapapiés. From October 20 to 30, over thirty restaurants are participating in the “Primer Ruta Multiculutral de La Tapa.” Basically, the area of Lavapiés is quite multicultural so this is a chance for each restaurant to showcase their home country’s specific cuisine through a one Euro tapa available on the route. With a quick look at the map featuring a picture of each dish, I knew that I had to go so me and a few friends headed out last night as a mid-week pick me up!

For the rundown: We started off at a Mediterranean-esque bar called Olivar 54 for a tapa featuring carne asada, roasted red peppers and a sweet onion marmalade. We then proceeded to a place called Eucalipto because I was swayed by one word: goat cheese. Unfortunately, the service there sucked and only Anna made it away with a tapa before the rest of us were annoyed. No worries because what came at our next stop was perhaps my favorite of the evening. We headed to Maisha, an Indian restaurant, for an empanadilla of chicken and vegetables. It was piping hot and bursting with curry flavor that I have not experienced in quite some time. If anything, this made me want a full Indian meal very soon.

We then rounded the corner for a kabob, followed by tabbouleh at another haunt and finally, savory potatoes from Fatas Morgana. They were like scalloped potatoes with onions doused in gooey mozzarella cheese and sprinkled with sesame seeds. It was the perfect ending to a delicious night out.

Since I do not work Friday and the kids do not have school Monday, my school decided to celebrate Halloween today. The funny thing about Halloween here is that there is one theme to it all: scary.  You won’t find the girls wanting to be princesses or animals, instead, everyone is either a witch, vampire, or skeleton. I went with a witch.

I was also in charge of organizing one “workshop” which consisted of me putting peeled grapes, spaghetti, dried apricots, hot dogs and chiclets into bowls for the kids to touch and guess what it was. The intention was for them to feel like body parts- eyes, brains, ears, fingers and teeth, but when you’re dealing with three to six-year olds, it’s a bit complicated.

Needless to say, I’m happy it’s over and now I can enjoy a five day weekend. Who knows what’s in store for my actual Halloween celebration but I’ll be sure to keep you updated. In the meantime, check out the pics of our tapa adventure:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Tapas+Lavapiés= Tapapiés

  1. Pingback: Let’s Tapa ‘Bout It | Cookin' and Lookin'

Leave a Reply

