Baking for Brother

I was driving home from dinner with my brother when I said “I want to bake!” He replied, “Bake me something.”

Well… why not? He’s entering his freshman year in college next week and if that’s not something to reward him for, I don’t know what is!

I asked him what his favorite baked good is because that’s what I would make! After tossing around ideas we landed on brownies but not just any brownies… s’mores brownies. I began perusing the cabinets to see what we had already in the house. I decided Annie’s Honey Bunny Grahams would bring in the graham cracker taste while mini-marshmallows were just as delicious as the jumbo-puffed variety! That only meant I needed one thing from the store… brownie mix! I went with Ghiradelli because it just sounded too good.

Preparation was simple. I prepared the brownie mix according to the box then added the good stuff.

I mixed it all together and into the pan it went! Right after I started pouring I realized that I forgot to grease the pan… Then I realized another blunder… I forgot to go by the high altitude directions on the brownie box! Even so, there was no stopping what had been done and into the oven it went!

Sweet smells filled the air as these brownies baked for about 50 minutes at 325 degrees. They came out bubbling and then came the worst part: waiting for them to cool.

I love baking but I am super impatient when it comes to waiting. This usually results in me messing up at the very last second whether it’s releasing a cake from the mold before it’s done cooling or peeling the cookies off the pan when they are not quite set.

Tonight, I distracted myself with a movie and tried my hardest not to think about what was sitting in the kitchen. Eventually I could not wait any longer and dug in. Although they probably could have baked a little bit longer, I love gooey brownies just as much as the next person so did not mind the fact they were a bit undercooked. Adding to the gooey-ness was the melted marshmallows that made them perfect.

Being the social butterfly he is, my brother left the house to hang out with his friends before he could try one but I’m sure he’ll enjoy them just as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

