WE ARE FAMILY

My recent computer crash led me to many realizations. One of which is how important entities like blogs, facebook, and emails are to keep inventory of things like pictures, papers, and memories that may be lost when such an event occurs. I wish I was good at journaling, printed out pictures, and more organized so that my hard drive crashing did not feel like the end of the world. Unfortunately I’m very tied to my computer so feel like I lost a lot but dealing with the issues as they arise and trying to believe that “everything happens for a reason.” Anywho… I haven’t blogged in awhile due to time constraints and figure now is a great time seeing as I took a break this past weekend from the crazy NYC life to travel to the not so crazy Perry, Iowa for a family reunion!

Where the festivities took place!

We haven’t had a family reunion in ten years and this one was more special because it brought together some of our extended family that I have never even met before. My dad comes from a family of eleven kids so our side alone is pretty huge.

Almost all the family!

When you add in his cousins you can only imagine how big it gets.

We had a picnic on Saturday and church and brunch on Sunday. In a flash, I was back on a plane headed back to NYC.

It was a whirlwind but even this short trip had a great impact on me. It’s so comforting to be around a hundred relatives knowing that you are all connected by the greatest bond of all that is family. Our shirts read “They had to invite me… I’m family!” and it’s one of life’s greatest blessings. They’ll always be there for you because they have to be, for better or for worse.

I almost missed coming to this reunion because we thought it might be too hard to get there and not worth the travel pains. And while United did try to stop me from getting there (as seems to be my luck with flying lately) I made it and even just a few hours united with these people was enough for me to feel truly happy and lucky that I come from where I do!

Leave a Reply

