What a way to make a livin’

Although I feel like I have no time to sit down and write, I know that if I don’t now then I never will. The reason? So much keeps happening I cannot keep track of it all and eventually, it will all just fly away from me! So let’s do this.

Monday came around and it was time for my first day of the internship. It was great to meet the other interns for the summer and everything I heard made me really excited for the next ten weeks. After work, I hopped the subway for the Taste of Times Square. With booths from around Times Sqaure lining Restaurant Row and flaunting their best food, I had a tough decision to make.

Thankfully, my residence sold discounted tickets to the event so we got 2 for 1. Still, deciding how to spend my ten tickets was no easy feat. I started with a Kung Pao Nacho from iconic Ruby Foos followed by this Eggplant Parmesean from Carmines.That wasn’t all. I also got some Junior’s Cheesecake and this amazing BBQ Chicken slider from a restaurant I don’t remember. This may be a good thing because I’m pretty sure I would end up there often. Of course, I had bites of my companion’s goodies along the way. One of my favorites? DOUBLE TREE COOKIES! Thank goodness Alex was in the mood for a cookie because I really wanted one of these but ran out of tickets. I’m telling you people- if you’ve never had them, order a tin right now.

Needless to say, I left this event full! But the eating didn’t end there. Me and Alex had a Yelp event to attend- country club style. Here, instead of lots of little tents there was one HUGE tent stuffed with just as much amazing food and drinks. This time though? No tickets needed! It was all absolutely free and delicious. Needless to say, I have never ate so much in one night.This was just a great culinary experience out on Randall’s Island with fun people and lively atmosphere. From carnita tacos served by the Taco Truck, to pizza from Slice, not to mention a key lime delight from Two Little Red Hens, I wish I had pictures to share but it might just make you really really jealous.

Tuesday was just as exciting, but in a different way. I got to go into work where I fell even more in love with my job and got the opportunity to attend a screening of the upcoming movie Cyrus later that evening. It’s not your typical Jonah Hill and John C. Reilly movie but it’s worth checking out if you’re into more Indie-type films. The best part about it for me was that it was only 90 minutes long so I was guaranteed to stay awake. Afterwards me, another intern, and a producer headed to McGee’s to talk about the movie. It’s the Irish bar where McLaren’s from How I Met Your Mother is based off of. I was happy.

Today brought lots of excitement, like always. The highlight? Lunch at The Plaza Food Hall by Todd English. Not only did I get to meet him, I got to indulge in an amazing sushi roll and take in the atmosphere. This place is located really close to where I work and I will no doubt be frequenting here quite often for lunch. It’s like heaven in a food market. Tonight, we had our first “class” for my school of the summer. Some interns from UM joined together to listen to a speaker and catch up on our internships. I can’t believe tomorrow is Thursday and that means that weekend anticipation is starting to build…

Leave a Reply

