One Weekend Down

After a much needed night in, I awoke to beautiful weather that boded quite well for the day’s main event- Yoga on Governor’s Island! For those familiar with Yelp, you might know that they are doing a summer series here in New York called Yelp Summer Camp. Fortunately, I got in town just in time for the first event and brought Alex along with me. It was opening day of Governor’s Island which is located right by Staten Island, but a little bit easier to get to from Brooklyn. First we walked a few blocks down to the pier at Brooklyn Bridge Park and boarded a ferry that took us there in about ten minutes!Once on land, we bended and breathed through poses for about an hour under a shaded area inside of this beautiful park! I am so excited for all the other events Yelp is hosting this summer on the island, especially the next one- a potluck!

After getting in touch with my inner yogi, we boarded the ferry to head back to Brooklyn to prepare for the arrival of the roomie! She got in smoothly and we hung out while she unpacked. Then, it was time to eat. We live a few blocks away from one of the cutest streets lined with restaurants, boutiques, and other businesses that I have perused quite a few times. I walked by one particular restaurant called the Vegetarian Ginger which is all vegan and knew that I needed to take Courtney there ASAP. So that’s where we went for dinner.

Now, I have never been to an all vegan restaurant so did not quite know what seitan, earthen casserole, bean curd, and other ingredients really consisted of. Thankfully, the waitress was nice enough to talk me through it. Even though after taking “my” order, I wasn’t quite exactly sure what I was getting, it was ended up being delicious. Later that night, I met up with some friends in the city for an eventful evening that took me all around and just made me more anxious to do exploring in the daytime! It really is crazy though how much is open so late. I thought Madrid was always awake but this really is the city that never sleeps.

After eventually getting to sleep, I awoke ready to celebrate Japan Day in Central Park!Not sure what to expect, upon entering I could tell we were in for some excitement. The park was filled with people participating in origami, face painting, and trying Japanese food. All the while, a stage was step up with dancers and singers performing throughout the day.We stuck around long enough to wait in the long lines for dumplings and one of the strangest things I have ever seen: sushi poppers!

Imagine a Flintstone Push-Pop, California Roll style. It was good, but I’m not sure if I’d be bulk-ordering them in the future. After that, we headed to Whole Foods and made a long trek back home, absolutely wiped! I went to Pilates to stretch and relax on the mat which was nice but am definitely heading to bed early tonight. Orientation for the internship is tomorrow and to say I am anxious is the understatement of the century.

Leave a Reply

