I Can’t Stand Still

I woke up this morning and opened my curtain blinds to this. That’s right, I made it to Brooklyn Heights and have a lovely apartment on the 11th floor with a dorm-size room that looks a little something like this.It’s just what I need: cable TV, a full size fridge, microwave, and the most important thing of all- AIR CONDITIONING!

After a painless taxi ride to get to my building, I immediately got down to business! I unpacked my suitcases, picked up my membership from the gym and started to make a list of everything I needed to buy. My roomie from Miami, Alex, is also interning and living in Brooklyn this summer and before we left school I gave her a box of things to bring to NYC for me since she was driving. For better or worse it was some pretty important cargo (i.e. bed sheets, towels, a comforter…) so meeting up with her was one of my top priorities! She met me at my place with about half the stuff then we made the trip to her apartment to get the rest. It’s crazy because although she lives in the same borough, it takes about forty minutes to get to her neighborhood. NY maps are so deceiving- this place is HUGE.

My building had a Pizza Social last night that started at 8. The pizza was gone by 8:07. If nothing screams poor college kids, I don’t know what does. But my mouth was expecting pizza and so we hit up Fascati right next door for a New York slice. Later, we went to a place called McSorley’s, and eventually made it home in the wee hours of the night. What a first day!

Today I woke up knowing that things needed to be done. But first, I wanted to test out the Pilates class at my gym! Not to mention, my room did not come with a shower curtain so until I bought one, I needed to take a shower at the gym. Now I’ve never really done that before so was not prepared. Meaning, I did not bring many essential items (like a pair of shoes other than my running shoes to change into) but you learn something new everyday, and I’m pretty sure I rocked the dark skinny jeans and Asics look. Something else I learned? Masterlocks come with their own code. I thought I was making up my own three digit code and messed up which is why it wasn’t unlocking. Luckily, I saw the secret numbers on the paper before I got too frustrated to toss the thing in the trash.

Squeaky clean after the gym, my next stop was Bed Bath and Beyond. Despite the fact I left the store carrying too big bags filled with items like a trashcan, bathmat, and canvas box, one of my old friends from Miami told me she was in town from DC. Not having seen her in several months, I hopped on the subway and headed to a New York staple- Serendipity 3 instead of returning to my apartment to unload. For those of you who have never been there, you are missing out. Their speciality? Frrrrozen Hot Chocolate. We got one of those and also a Mint Oreo drink to split between us. It was the first time I have had it since I was about 13 and it took me right back!I knew that I would need to get one of these eventually and it’s even better that I got to on my first official day in the city!

Next, it was time to go home and drop my bags off before moving on to my next adventure. Trader Joes. Some might remember when I made my first trek to TJs on my roadtrip to Miami last summer. Just imagine how thrilled I was to find out I would be living less than a mile away from one in New York. Thank goodness too because I am realizing more and more, this city really is a million times more expensive than any other. Well, needless to say I spent a lot of time weaving in and out of aisles stocking up on food!One cool find? Mochi ICE CREAM!I knew I couldn’t get too carried away though because I had limited carrying capacity so stocked up on some staples. I will definitely be back soon for more!

On the walk home I got tempted into buying a bag of mangos for $2 off a cart. I saw the same ladies chopping it up yesterday and could simply not resist another day. A bag of delicious mangos later, I made it home, prepared some dinner, and finally organized my room so that Court can do her thang without interference with my stuff when she gets in tomorrow. As for tonight? I passed up the opportunity to hop around town to sleep. Something I have not done efficiently for the past couple days. After running around all day today, I’m sure it won’t be a problem.

Leave a Reply

