Beat It!

I can’t believe it has taken me so long to write about one of my newfound obsessions: Egg Beaters.

For some reason, I just cannot sleep and after tossing and turning for about an hour, just decided to get up and start my day, assuming that I would be able to nap later on. So I took to reading some textbooks and decided it was time for breakfast. Thankfully, last night I did some 10pm grocery shopping to refuel our barren fridge and pantry.

Because who doesn't shop in a cocktail dress and high heels?

What did I make sure I picked up? Egg Beaters, of course! But this time something new, Southwestern Style.

My mom used to use Egg Beaters to whip up some delicious breakfast sandwiches for me during high school, but I had never experienced making things with them myself until this semester. Who did I turn to to figure out exactly how to prep them? That’d be Hungry Girl.

I decided to test out her Egg Mug Classic one morning and I was hooked. It’s so easy to prepare and makes for a filling breakfast that can fuel you through any day! I’ve even gotten my roomies hooked on these delicious mugs too!

This is what I like to do:

1. Spray a mug with cooking spray and wipe with a paper towel to make sure it’s all covered.

2. Add 1/2 cup of Egg Beaters and a slice of Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss cheese wedge (they’re recently come out with new flavors that I cannot WAIT to try!) that is cut up into smaller slivers.

3. Microwave for 1 minute, take out and mix around with fork.

4. Microwave for an additional 45 seconds. Don’t be afraid if it expands, just make sure it doesn’t overflow!

Then what to do? You could eat it right from the mug, but I like to top an english muffin with this delicious eggy mix and add some hot sauce (Cholula) is my favorite. I’ve also added it atop Sandwich Thins, inside a tortilla with some salsa(to make a breakfast burrito) and my new find? BAGEL THINS. Seriously guys, these things are amazing and might warrant another post in the very near future…

So while waking up at 4am this morning may have not been ideal… I got to test out some new finds that are sure to become breakfast staples.

One thought on “Beat It!

  1. I prepare egg whites in a muggy too! Spraying the mug with oil is a good idea although they usually slide right out for me. I love the taste of egg beaters esp. in my oats but they’re renovating the grocery store on campus that sells them so it’s egg whites for me for now.

Leave a Reply

