BITCH: Babe In Total Control of Herself

So I just finished Kelly Cutrone‘s book If You Have to Cry Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You. I should also say just started because at approximately 9:00am this morning, I cracked the spine on this baby while on the Arc Trainer and was done by sundown! Needless to say it’s a quick read, but unlike other short books, this is worth your money. If you’ve ever watched an episode of The Hills, you know who Kelly is. She’s blunt and honest, never afraid to speak her mind. This is mainly why I wanted to read this book. I thought that she would have some insightful advice on making it to the top, and I found just that and more. There were definitely some things she said that resonated with me more than others. Multiple times throughout the day, I found myself wishing I had a highlighter on hand to grasp onto a good point or two, but since I didn’t, I’m now flipping page by page and letting you in on some of the best advice found in the book.

1. Go balls out on intuition and follow your dreams. Dreams won’t always take you on a straight path to destiny, but they’re usually related to what your soul wants for you. They’ll force you to ask yourself the hard questions, they’ll kick your ass, and most importantly, they’ll turn you on.

2. Create a tribe. Start by identifying people in your community you look up to and then, graciously and with their blessing, use their hard work and experience to your advantage. Pick their brains. And if you don’t see ay of these people around you, do as much travel and research as you can to figure out where they might be waiting for you.

3. Fake it to make it.

4. Sometimes you need to let go of everything you’re clinging to and start over, whether because you’ve outgrown it or because it’s not working anymore or because it was wrong for you in the first place.  It’s not a breakdown, it’s a breakthrough.

5. We’re all hookers in one way or another.

6. Being nice does not always remove obstacles, and in fact it sometimes creates them. You don’t have to say anything you do not mean, and I urge you not to.

7. Be a Warrior not a Worrier. Life is going to kick you in your ass sometimes and there’s no way to avoid that, but if you get up and keep doing what you do, giving your best self each time, you eventually achieve not only success but that great physic coup of detachment.

8. You are the brand: Normal gets you nowhere. Personal branding is about figuring out who you are and what turns you on then monetizing it. Every successful brand has an message, is authentic, focused, and consistent.

9. Give good phone. As a species, we cannot afford to live on e-mail or to save our intimate conversations for late nights and weekends.

10. Be the firs tone in and the last one to leave. Besides, it’s during the late nights at the office that the good stuff really happens.

I feel like this list could go on for awhile but I hope just reading a few key points makes you want to go read the book yourself! Ultimately, her message comes down to listening to yourself  and finding out what it is that you really want to pursue, and fearlessly go after that dream, following your inner voice all along the way. You must be prepared for problems along the way, but with these problems, comes new successes. It’s all apart of this journey we call life.

I’m definitely glad mommy called me up letting me know we had a coupon to Borders so I could grab this book. I suggest all young women get out there and do the same!

Leave a Reply

