I can’t help myself.

Happy New Year’s Eve! So on my other blog I wrote that I was going to start posting again on this blog the first of the year but I just can’t help myself! While perusing the blogosphere, I realized that a reflection on 2009 is more than necessary before I embark on a new decade which I sure will be filled with an unimaginable amount of adventures.

What a year 2009 has been in both good and bad ways. My second semester was rough both academically and mentally. Classes were tough and I was always on the move which left me more than stressed out 99.99999 percent of the time. Not until the last month and a half of school (right after an amazing spring break in Sarasota) was I able to truly relax and enjoy Miami and being a college student! Leaving Miami to head home for summer was bittersweet since I knew that I was going to be back to Miami for a full seven months but I was ready for something new abroad.

Sarasota for spring break- can't get much better

I got to travel to New York City for the NBS (National Broadcasting Society)¬†convention during spring semester and thankfully had my suitemate Alex along with me! For those who don’t know, New York is my favorite city on this Earth and I loved getting back to the streets while also learning more about the news industry.

No trip to New York is complete without a pastrami sandwich at Katz'

One of my favorite parts about the end of the semester was getting to see a live taping of Regis and Kelly (one of my favorite morning talk shows!) at a really nice hotel in Miami Beach. My friend was working the week there and got us VIP and I was absolutely in heaven.

Is it wrong I aspire to be Kelly Ripa?

When the semester came to a close, me and my roommate Kelly were in no rush to get home for summer so decided to drive my car back 30 hours! We made stops along the way in Orlando, Atlanta, St. Louis, Nashville and Kansas City. It was lots of fun and a great way to close out the year.

We met Conan O'Brien in St. Louis!

My summer was spent interning at CBS4 in Denver and working at Heritage Eagle Bend, an “age restricted community,” where I was a “Communications and Activities Intern.” Little did I know this position really just involved sitting by a pool for 8 hours a day, occasionally bring people food and drinks if they were astute enough to realize that that is what I was there for. The internship at the news station though was amazing and solidified my interest in the field. Although I did not have a “crazy” summer, I definitely learned lots and made lots of money that paid off once I got to SPAIN!

During the summer, I also made it to Iowa for my cousin’s highschool graduation, New Mexico for the 4th of July, got free passes to Mile High Music Festival, climbed my first fourteener and saw Toby Keith and Trace Adkins at Fiddlers’ Green. So summer wasn’t a total dud but nothing compared to my semester abroad.

My family in Espana... one of my favorite weeks of the semester!

Living in Madrid, I got to travel all around Spain (Valencia, Barcelona, Sevilla), Portugal, France, Germany and Austria! So surreal and an experience I will take with me for the rest of my life.

So there is 2009 in a very small nutshell. I definitely feel like it was a year of discovery. Discovering who I am, where my interests lay, and what matters most to me. I am eager to embark on a new year which is certain to be filled with fun and surprise! So here’s to you, 2009, may you and the rest of the 2000s forever rest in peace.

One thought on “I can’t help myself.

  1. what a recap! I was an intern at NBC and Fox in Chicago and loved it. I used to work with Bill Rancic, before he met Guilliana…I like to think I was his true love hahaha. What did you think of Kansas City when ya drove through it? Boring huh? Its my hometown. NYC is also my fav city! We are pretty much the same person. Happy New YEar Girlie! Make sure you have a glass or five of champagne!

    xxooxox
    lolo

Leave a Reply

