Vale.

Hello all! Wow. I’m finally taking a second to relax and write since I have been go, go, go since I got to Madrid. I do not know why I thought it would be cute to get here the day Orientation started… but I did. I definitely could have used one day of relaxation just to run around and sort out phones and such but slowly but surely I am getting all settled in.

I am living with a Señora who has 8 kids (the youngest one is in her forties) so needless to say, she’s a bit old. She does not speak any English which will be a good thing but a little complicated when you are trying to describe what the word for tape is and can barely find the right words to describe it. It seems like everything will work out with the living situation. I have a big room with ample space. The only downers include the lack of AC (but it gets pretty cool at night), no WiFi, and the fact we’re all alone. A lot of the other students have one other student living in their casa with them but I’m sure as long as I keep myself busy the time I spend by myself will be greatly appreciated.

I’m still adjusting to the time schedule. I keep waking up around 2am and can’t fall asleep til about 4am and then wake up at 7 to start the day! I’m just trying not to think about it and hopefully I will adjust after this weekend.

Yesterday was the first day of classes, after a written and oral exam they put me at the Advanced Level with 4 Native speakers and 2 girls from France (grrreat). But no. It really is fine. The first 4 weeks we just take a language, culture, and conversation class. Already I feel my Spanish getting better, I just need to keep pushing myself.

Yesterday, I went to the Parque del Buen Retiro with a group of girls and it was so big and beautiful. I definitely want to go back and walk around more.

parque

Later, I went over to visit my friend Taylor from high school and see her apartment. It’s SO nice and I’m a bit jealous but I’m sure I can use it as an escape from time to time. Thankfully, it’s really close to me.

The food is a little tough to adjust to. They don’t eat dinner til 8:30 and when you’re waking up at 7 it’s hard to plan out your meals, what to eat, and when to eat it. I’m slowly but surely adjusting, it’s just part of the move!

Ok, I do still need to figure out my phone situation and buy a metro card (the metro system is amazing here!) but I will definitely start writing more as I feel less crazed.

4 thoughts on “Vale.

  1. Cass.
    Sorry I’m the girl that’s commenting on every post, but I am so proud of you. It sounds like things are really ideal, in the sense that you have many wonderful things before you but just enough challenges that you can push your way through. Unreal.

Leave a Reply

