FINALLY FOURTEEN!

So I made a “To-do before summer ends” list at the beginning of the summer (3 months ago. Where has time gone?!) Unfortunately, I have not made too much progress but did manage to check one thing off today… Climbing a 14er! And technically I can check it off twice because we conquered two, Grays Peak and Torreys Peak!

Grays Peak is on the left, Torreys on the right!

Grays Peak is on the left, Torreys on the right!

I was so excited when my roomie invited me to go with her and her friends because every time I have tried this summer, plans have fell through! So I got up at the awful hour of 5 am (Did you know it is dark enough to still see stars at that hour?!) and headed to meet up with the crew!

The hike in total was 9 miles long, it was so steep, and more difficult than I anticipated! Thankfully, my body was up for the challenge and we made it up and down in a little less than six hours! We had plenty of stops and snacks on the way and I am so happy we did it!

All of us at the top of Grays!

All of us at the top of Grays!

After, we stopped by Lollicup on the way home for a victory present to ourselves. A Strawberry Peach Slush was the perfect rejuvenator after such a long and tiring hike! I’m so ecstatic I finally made it to the top of one and can’t wait to do another one again! Views like this is definitely one of the things I will miss the most about Colorado (and the USA for that matter) next semester in Madrid!

Heaven on earth.

Heaven on earth.

Leave a Reply

