Making progress!

So I ended up having a very nice weekend that confirmed one thing that I have always known: I am not a camper. While the stars were pretty and it was nice to get away, I would much rather stay in a nice insulated house in the mountains than sleep in a tent and wake up smelling like burnt campfire. But overall, I am glad I went and can check it off my Summer To-Do list.

Yesterday my grandma and uncle (with his wife and brood of four) came over for a dinner party (apparently it was in my honor since I am leaving soon for Spain? I was unaware). Either way, I got roped into dishing up some food since my mom was at work. I started out by making this green bean and yellow pepper salad. It was really easy to make and with just with just olive oil, red wine vinegar, onion, yellow peppers, and green beans, healthy. The beans were from the farmer’s market Saturday and all I had to do was cut them and boil them for a little bit. Through making this I also learned what chopping a red onion thinly meant (thanks to my papa!)

The finished product!

The finished product!

Next on the list were twice baked potatoes! Potatoes used to be my absolute favorite food. I love them a lot still but wow… was I obsessed. Anyways. My mom and gma always made really good ones so I was excited to finally learn how to make them! Basically it just took baking the potatoes, scooping out the insides, adding sour cream, ricotta cheese, cheddar cheese, seasoning, and stuffing the potatoes again to bake! They turned out muy delicioso (even if this implies otherwise).

IMG00050

So there ya go. I was proud of my domestic enterprises yesterday. I even watched my aunt make her famous mojitos (my favorite cocktail) and am hoping that I can make them for myself soon! It seems easy enough (sugar water, club soda, lime, mint, rum, and ice) but it is the blend that truly makes it outstanding. I guess I can make the hard sacrifice and start experimenting soon!

One thought on “Making progress!

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed your camping trip. I used to go camping a lot when I was younger as a Girl Scout and really enjoyed it. Somewhere along the way I got less outdoorsy (end of high school, beginning on college) and I think I’m back on the outdoorsy track again! Strange how I keep going back and forth.

    Mojitos are my favorite as well! Mmm Mmm!

Leave a Reply

