Salsaritaaa

So for those of you who don’t know, my grandma is Mexican and that means that me and the fam eat a lot of Mexican food! It’s probably my favorite out of any type of ethnic food (right up there with Ethiopian!) Needless to say, it’s all authentic from the enchiladas to chili rellenos to guacamole! My grandma is an amazing cook and thankfully, my mom is not too bad either.

Then there’s me. Who can barely make mac and cheese without messing it up. But I made a recent goal to learn how to make all these family staples before it’s too late… and one of them is a simple salsa!

I went to the Farmer’s Market again today with my best friend after running through Washington Park. We wanted to grab some breakfast and my mom wanted me to grab some vegetables (to make salsa!) I realized that today would be a perfect day to figure out how exactly she makes the stuff that I eat practically every day. Turns out it is really easy!

I started out with one Colorado tomato (from the farmer’s market) that I cut up into big chunks, followed by half of an onion. I put that in the food processor first!

DSC00413

Then I took some of the fresh cilantro and Medium (on the hotness scale) roasted chiles that I also got today. They were roasting them fresh by their tent and the aroma was circulating throughout the entire lot! I had to peel away the roasted skin of the chiles to get to the realpart. Turns out, most of the, were  closer to the mild side and we like our salsa spicy… so we added more chile until it got a little kick!

Mmm I love the smell of cilantro!

Mmm I love the smell of cilantro!

DSC00415

Bag o' chile!

Next, I added a the juice of half a lime, a teaspoon of kosher salt, a little less than a teaspoon of garlic powder, and a little bit of freshly ground pepper! Then it was time to mix!

DSC00418

After adding a little bit extra salt here, and cilantro there we finally got a flavor we liked!

And the finished product….

Success!!!

Success!!!

So there it is! I learned how to make my first family recipe and I can’t wait to share it with my friends when we’re camping tonight. What’s even cooler is I can say that I made it all by myself.

I can’t wait to learn more. My grandma is heading here tomorrow so maybe I’ll have another cooking adventure!

Does your family have any “secret” recipes you wanna learn too?

2 thoughts on “Salsaritaaa

  1. Pingback: Guac and roll! « Cookin' and Lookin'

  2. Pingback: Farmer’s Market Finds « Cookin' and Lookin'

Leave a Reply

